Nelson Mandela Foundation


This publication shows the common values that the various speakers at the Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture share with Nelson Mandela: compassion with and concern for all those who are marginalised and whose voices are not heard.

The Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture is the centrepiece of a wide-ranging Dialogue Programme. The Annual Lecture forms part of the annual celebration of Mr Mandela’s birthday and creates an opportunity for leaders of international standing to present their views on critical issues impacting society at large.

The inaugural Nelson Mandela Annual Lecture was held on July 19, 2003, and was delivered by President William Jefferson Clinton. The second Annual Lecture was delivered by Nobel Peace Prize winner Archbishop Desmond Tutu on November 23, 2004. The third Annual Lecture was delivered on July 19, 2005 by Nobel Peace Prize winner, Professor Wangari Maathai MP, from Kenya. The fourth Annual Lecture was delivered by President Thabo Mbeki on July 29, 2006.

Nobel Peace Prize winner, Mr Kofi Annan, the former secretary-general of the United Nations, will deliver the fifth Annual Lecture on July 22, 2007.

Nmf Lecture Booksmallpic